Our people

The Brotherhood’s Research and Policy Centre team includes people with international and national social policy and research experience. The team's disciplinary expertise is diverse, enabling us to bring multiple perspectives to our research and policy work.

The team also includes honorary research and policy associates, specialist social policy librarians, a research editor as well as business and administrative staff.

Together we strive to create knowledge and build evidence that seeds new approaches to social policy, programs and practice that help shape a better future people and communities experiencing poverty, inequity and social exclusion.


Professor Shelley Mallett

Director, Research and Policy Centre.
Also Professorial Fellow in Social Policy School of Social and Political Sciences, University of Melbourne.

Deputy DIrector

Leadership team

Dina Bowman
Principal Research Fellow
Work and Economic Security

Shaun McMahon
Head of Monitoring,
Evaluation and Learning

Simon Biggs
Professor in Social Policy and Gerontology,
University of Melbourne / Brotherhood of St Laurence

Damian Sullivan
Senior Research Manager
Energy, Equity and Climate Change

Amanda Pagan
Principal Fellow
Inclusive Communities

Joseph Borlagdan
Principal Fellow

Research and Policy teams


Tim Gilley, Senior Research Fellow

George Myconos, Research Fellow

Aradhana Barua, Research Officer


Dina Bowman, Principal Research Fellow

Matthew Curry, Ronald Henderson Research Fellow

Seuwandi Wickramasinghe, Senior Research Officer

Jeremiah Brown, ANZ Tony Nicholson Fellow

Ursula Harrison, Research Fellow

Maria Mupanemunda, Research Officer


Simon Biggs, Professor of Social Policy and Gerontology, University of Melbourne/Brotherhood of St Laurence

James Finnis, Policy Advisor


Damian Sullivan, Senior Manager

Emma de Campo, Project Manager, Energy Broker

Anica Niepraschk, Project Manager, Your Sustainable Home

David Bryant, Research Officer

Emma Chessell, Home Energy Adviser

Liam Cranley, Home Energy Adviser

Quang Vo, Database Developer


Joseph Borlagdan, Principal Research Fellow

Deborah Keys, Research Fellow

Sharon Bond, Senior Research Officer

Marion Coddou, Senior Research Fellow

Niro Kandasamy, Senior Research Officer 

Tracey Pahor, Senior Research Officer

Ed Dunstan, Research Officer

Elena McKinlay, Research Officer


Amanda Pagan, Principal Fellow

Mutsumi Karasaki, Senior Research Fellow

Aaron Hart, Research Fellow

Diane Brown, Policy Advisor

Julia Perdevich, Policy Advisor

Malita Allan, Senior Research Officer

Elena McKinlay, Research Officer


Danielle Thornton, Research Fellow

Diamuid Cooney-O'Donoghue, Research Officer


Barry Pullen


Library Manager

Vivian Papaleo, Senior Librarian

The Brotherhood of St Laurence (BSL) acknowledges and understands its obligations under the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child and recognises that all children and young people have the right to be treated with respect and care, and to be safe from all forms of abuse. BSL has a zero tolerance towards child abuse.
Read the official statement signed by the Executive Director.

The Brotherhood recognises the harm that family violence causes and that freedom from violence is a basic human right.
We will support our staff, volunteers, clients and the community if they experience violence.

Find out more about the work of the Brotherhood
Australian Aboriginal flag, a yellow circle on two horizontal black and red stripes

The Brotherhood of St Laurence acknowledges and recognises the Traditional Owners of the land upon which we live and work, and we pay our respects to their Elders both past and present.

Torres Strait Islander flag, an icon of a traditional headdress on blue, black and green stripes